KiteLife Forum

Some questions from a beginner

jsockhouse

I’m just getting into some more complicated kites and have a few questions. I was originally in the market (still am) for a lifting kite like a foil. I have bought some tube tails that are 20 feet and the bigger laundry pictured below. Since I can’t find the foil I want I ran into a  10 ft ddc kite. The into the wind stratosphere see picture below. It says it can hold 6 tails but wondering if it will be able to do the tube tails and the laundry I bought. Also it’s recommended to use 150# line I have 200 and 250 is that’s a big difference in weight that would affect flying? Should I use heavier line with laundry or no? 

9D0D9B07-EF9E-469B-82CA-FCF0A4FA2F3A.jpeg

DF73CF37-8E87-446D-82EC-8E758732B4DD.jpeg

At that size the kite will lift quite a lot, but it depends tremendously on the wind.  On a light wind day the kite will struggle to stay aloft even without a tail. On a strong wind day with gusts at 15 or 20 MPH you'll probably be wanting to anchor the kite down due to strong pull.

From what I can see, the Stratosphere has six attachment points, but that doesn't mean all six should be loaded down. It should have no problem holding a few tube tails. Adding line laundry in addition to the tails will depend entirely on the wind.

The added weight from moving to 150# dacron to 200# or 250# dacron shouldn't be an issue in good wind. In light wind where it could matter you would also be struggling to keep the kite up anyway, and it wouldn't be a matter of tails dragging it down.

This will come over time and experience. Like wind speed ratings, line strength ratings can be fudged. I like to fly on the "lightest line" I can get away with generally, but also will put up heavier line to slow things down a bit. This applies to all my kites....single, dual, and quadliners.