KiteLife Forum

Non Sport Kite Related Question

I know this is the wrong area of the forum, but as I don't kite board/surf/buggy, I wasn't sure...

Also, excuse the stupidity of my question as I'm still new to kiting.

I have an HQ Symphony Beach 2.1meter power kite. I am a sucker for shorter lines. I had 80ft Premier lines on my stunt kite that I was using on both kites because I like their shortness. One day I was using them on my power kite and they snapped. So I headed to the store and bought 80ft HQ lines. Last night I was flying the power kite in about 15-20k winds with the 80ft lines and they snapped.

So my question is, are they snapping because they're too short?

Thanks!

I know this is the wrong area of the forum, but as I don't kite board/surf/buggy, I wasn't sure...

I have an HQ Symphony Beach 2.1meter power kite. I am a sucker for shorter lines. I had 80ft Premier lines on my stunt kite that I was using on both kites because I like their shortness. One day I was using them on my power kite and they snapped. So I headed to the store and bought 80ft HQ lines. Last night I was flying the power kite in about 15-20k winds with the 80ft lines and they snapped.

Thanks!

HQ markets the Symphony line with their sport kites rather than their power kites, so I think you're in the right place, or close enough. ;)

There are no stupid questions, but this might qualify as a stupid answer. You don't specify the weight of any of the line sets you're using, so I'm guessing that maybe your lines are too light rather than too short. The Symphony Beach 2.1 ships with 100' lines, so I would expect that you can get away with 80' lines, BUT...