KiteLife Forum

Pigtails (tuning your quad with knotted leaders)

Sub706

Hello,

I 've been flying my B series revs the last the three months using the knots suggested in the video that came with the kite. I can manage all the slides and hovers. Recently, someone suggested that I should fly with a longer pigtails because that's is how Team Iquad fly. Being a newbie, I took the suggestion and made some longer pigtails and fly at the most outer knots at possible. The problem is I am not sure why I am doing so. Can someone explain the principal behind this? Thanks!

Saw that you were a subscriber to Kitelife - check out the tutorials, especially about sail loading! Pretty much explains what the theory is on longer leaders! John is in South America, his replies will be scattered in time for awhile! Try watching, if that doesn't get you there, come on back! If John hasn't posted, I'll be glad to explain!

It shows the reasoning behind why we fly with the longer top leaders!! In a nutshell, I'll try to explain!

Longer top leaders let you adjust the kite to "square up" and hold the wind efficiently! It allows you to set up your sail as almost "neutral", not overly jumpy with gusts, not completely dead if the wind drops! Stock leaders tend to make the kite too forward or too much drive!! They are intended to help you launch successfully and see some instant success in your flying! But we find that adding the longer leaders gives you more control after the beginning stages of flight! Something we avoid is having the kite "surge" out of control when a gust hits! The long leaders help you tune that out, so you can better absorb the gust! Helps too in light winds, where "squaring up" the sail traps more wind in the sail and helps you fly in harder conditions!

I'm sure John has more on this, these are a few things I can offer! :ani_idea: