KiteLife Forum

Best way to hold straps for Dualie kites.

Captainbob

In watching videos of good flyers flying dualies, I see several ways that the flyer holds the straps. Some wrap the straps around their wrists, and hold the strap in the palm of their hand. Others use two fingers holding the end of the if each strap. I have also seen some using a D ring to shorten the loop in the strap, and using fingers to hold the shortened loop. What is the preferred method that dualie experts use?

Depends on the wind and your preference. I was flying today in gusty winds. Had to put the straps around my wrist because of the pull. In light wind I'll hold the strap in my hand and put my finger on the line for feel.

• Like 1

I'm no expert.....

I prefer finger and knuckle straps. These go around the pinky and ringman. I feel the changes in line tension better.

Really does come down to feel and personal preference. Try different straps and ways to find which suits you best.

As Tmadz said though, sometimes you need that extra purchase when the wind is up.

• Like 1

Depends... in light winds I use Finger straps (California Customs made by NormP (best straps I've used)) or in standard winds I use wrist straps around the wrists, and index fingers on the leaders for fine adjustments, like is suggested in the Prism video. I've tried, but I can't use the Dodd grip with straps, it just feels like there's a lot less control.

If you haven't seen the Cal. Custom straps, they're in the first 10 seconds of this video...

I think you can get them from Gomberg kites, or shoot Norm a PM on the GWTW forum, user NP. He makes them by hand, and they are hands down THE BEST straps I've ever flown with. He makes finger straps as well as wrist straps.

• Like 2