KiteLife Forum

New guy saying "hello"

NewbieFrank

Hello, guys and gals:

I'm brand-new to KiteLife.com, and firstly want to say thanks to those who created and maintain this forum.  I've only just begun to explore the site, and can already tell it's filled with invaluable information and kindhearted, helpful folks.

I just bought my first two-line kite, a Prism Synapse 1.7 based upon the recommendation of the store owner (probably in no small measure due to her very limited stock!).  I live within walking distance to a north shore beach on Long Island.  Believe it or not, I went to fly it on Sunday morning for the first time and there was literally no wind - a highly unusual circumstance, so I have not been able to assess the appropriateness of this purchase for my environment and skill level (complete novice).  I take some solace in the fact that there's nothing to break, which is why I was steered away from a two-line delta by the salesperson.

I do build and fly R/C model helicopters, and thought a dual-line kite would be an awesome way to insure I continue to get outside this fall when the wind is too high to fly them.  Hope to be posting some experiences with the kite soon.  Any opinions as to whether it is a reasonably appropriate kite for a newbie?

Best,

NF

• Like 2

Seriously... North Shore of LI ? It almost sounds like you bought your kite from Lanie... It's exciting news to hear that there's a local looking to get into kiting. I was flying on Sunday at Cedar Beach, and yes, the wind was a little low, I only flew for a few hours before packing it in.

Welcome to the forum, hopefully we'll find each other on the beach & enjoy some good wind !

• Like 1

Hi, Frank and welcome to the forum.