KiteLife Forum

Quad or dual line for a beginner......

Tubbs

I'm a beginner and i was going to get the prism 3D as you can see by my picture but i'm considering getting a quad line as they look more fun to fly and do better tricks (which is what i can see from the videos on the site)where i live its not windy at all but when we get wind its very strong (because its all fields where we live so no trees to stop wind) so should i get quad or dual and what model should i get??? :ani_punk::)

It's hard to say Tubbs... It's a little harder to learn quad after you've been dual lining for awhile, but not so much that it can't be overcome.

The dual line kites will do more "pitch" or flippy tricks...

http://kitevideo.net/johnbarresi_com/jb-pr...5_sea-devil.wmv

Whereas the quad tend to focus more on accuracy and fine control.

http://kitevideo.net/johnbarresi_com/jb-promo05_revplay.wmv

It's hard for me to say if you should start one over the other... I started both within a year of each other.

As for which model of kites to start with... For quad, it's clearly the 1.5... For dual line, I suppose it depends on a few things.

What is your budget, and what wind conditions do you usually see in your area?

no budget really because its for christmas, but the most would be £200, no more than a couple of pounds over that really.the wind conditions are hard to explain, i live in a place in England where it is completely flat with no hills what so ever.We do get wind every so often and it can be very strong but most of the time we only have a breeze or no wind at all, this is because i live on the side of england that faces europe so we do not have any sea (apart from the British Channel)for wind to come from, so most of our wind has to come from the other side of the country that faces the sea and by the time it gets to us its died down alot or completely. Do you understand?so what do you make of my situation?

For quad, it's clearly the 1.5...
;)