KiteLife Forum

My first kite project! Unidentified kite needs replacements/minor repairs

Nekoshi

Hello! Let me start by saying thank you for considering to help. I'm new to kites, and this forum, and I was referred here to get some help identifying/repairing this kite I recently acquired.

I live in a rural area, far from any shops that repair kites, so I figured I'd attempt it myself. Although being my first kite project please tell me if this is ill advised.

I believe this is an older kite that may be out of production. Wingspan laying flat was 69" and tag says it's by Go-Fly-A-Kite. I attached a picture below and I'd be happy to measure and take more detailed pics as needed if anyone wants to try to help me out. It's a pretty little thing isn't it?

Please forgive my internet learned terminology. The replacements and repairs required are as follows:

1. Upper spreader (spar)

2. left and right lower spreaders (spars)

3. Missing one standoff but I will replace both most likely.

4. New bridle for safety reasons (It still has the one it was last flown with)

I closely inspected everything and it seems to be in good condition (LE, sail, hardware), but please let me know if I should replace anything else for safety reasons.

Again thanks to anyone who can give me a hand with my first kite project.

16998663_1483795604966039_615651924727820207_n.jpg

• Like 3

I live in Israel and no kite shops at all...so I can relate to your situation...

I would order all of the parts mentioned except for the bridle. It is very unlikely that you can damage it in a crash or even after 100 crashes....If you insist buy one from the kite manufacturer or buy the the string, watch some YouTube toturials and DIY.

As to the spars and other parts - you can replace one if you can identify and buy exactly the same....if not replace to alike but on both parts of the kite (keep a perfect symmetry).