KiteLife Forum

A bit confused Where to start?

prighello

Hello,

I have been flying single line kites for many years and recently became interested in dual line kites after seeing one flown at the beach. I've read a bunch but I'm still confused about where to start. Line material and length, wing sizes and shapes, frame materials, precision vs trick vs ??? There is a lot more to this than I thought.

I'd like to get a decent kite that can be controlled to make right and left turns and spin around a bit. I don't think I'm all that interested in tricks, more just controlling the flight of the kite and feeling it tug. What I really liked about the kite I saw was how fast and noisy it was. I see a lot of stuff about getting kites for tricks but what about for just flying around like I've mentioned?

I live by the beach on the central coast of California and it is often windy here but I've no real idea of the speed; enough to howl at my house in the evenings. Anyway, can anyone recommend a kite or two for what I've mention in the $50-$80 range? The other thing I'd not so sure about it framed vs foils. I don't want something that is really tough to fly that I will crash all the time and get frustrated by. One of my single line kites is like this and crashes a lot to the point where I'm about to trash the thing.

Final note is I'd like something not too huge as I like to hike and having something I fit in a pack or in the back seat of my car would be a plus.

Thank you for the help!

• Like 1

Just going to chime in and let the pros Give solid advice after.
One thing that you mentioned (key words): feeling tug / noise.

I like/prefer foil kites for pull and some noise and they are small and fit in small case for carrying around on carabiner on backpack. One brand is - HQ carries the following Symphony Beach SportKite in various sizes.

Island Life | UFUV | Kite Life Subscriber 1482

• Like 1