KiteLife Forum

Hi all from the East of England

Gladders

Hi everyone, 

I've been flying a foil for a few years now.  Just over a year ago I almost lost my beloved HQ symphony to a tv aerial, and started to look to see what else was out there. I saw some videos of tricks on deltas that could never work with a foil. 

So I bought a sport kite. I see it as being a form of active meditation, though it's more frustrating that the foil which is a really calming experience.  I'd like to be much more competent. Practice, practice, practice.

• Like 1

Patience, persistence, precision. Ingraining the 3 p's has made my practice,practice, practice a lot more rewarding. Bought a sport kite for rehab and it has become much,much more. Kite junky should be a song title. After much contemplation the sound of one hand clapping is whoosh. I think 😕.Could be wrong though. Guess I'll have to think on it some more 🤔.

• Like 1

On 10/8/2018 at 7:59 PM, Gladders said:

So I bought a sport kite. I see it as being a form of active meditation, though it's more frustrating that the foil which is a really calming experience.  I'd like to be much more competent

I assume the sport kite is a two line delta kite for tricks and/or precision? Do you know the model and brand of this kite? What do you find frustrating and which tricks (if that is what you are aiming for)  are closest to be within reach?

AND Welcome here @Gladders!!

Ahh, I saw from https://kitelife.com/forum/topic/9281-kite-buying-tips/ that that you have an HQ Limbo kite. Also saw from that topic that crash avoidance and stall/tricks practice was a thing. I think that you should not wait for a new kite to learn - use the time until you get one.