KiteLife Forum

Anyone hand lay their own carbon fiber spars?

Andy Klie

Hi Y’all,

I have extensive experience hand laying fiberglass and carbon fiber using epoxy resin. I was wondering if anyone has made their own spars? If so what weight cloth/tape, what weave and did you use epoxy or Phenolic resin?

I am think about experimenting with different weaves, cloth and lay up schedules and making a one piece LE spar for local flying.

Sent from my iPhone using KiteLife mobile app

The initial setup cost would exceed the cost of 12 complete quad frames, and that's just one size of tube. Unless I was planning to go into commercial manufacture there's no reason to do so. It would be like building your own textile mill so you can make some Icarex sail material. 

The initial setup cost would exceed the cost of 12 complete quad frames, and that's just one size of tube. Unless I was planning to go into commercial manufacture there's no reason to do so. It would be like building your own textile mill so you can make some Icarex sail material. 

I am not sure what your level of expertise is with carbon fiber or fiberglass but there is not much of an investment at all when hand laying.

The majority of the cost is in the materials. A frame set for a Rev is $90. I could purchase all supplies for 4-6 frames at a minimum for that amount.

When you are thinking of high cost you are probably thinking of vacuum bagging and a special mandrel set up. It does not have to be that complex.